Awards & Competitions 2016

The Public Engagement with Research Committee (PERC) would like to congratulate and thank all our entrants and winners of our competitions in 2016. We value your effort and are keen to support you to carry out public engagement where possible, so please get in touch if you think we can be of help in future.

The winners for this year’s competitions were:


Storytelling Researchers Video Competition 2016

1st place: Congratulations to Jessica Tuck (£200), College of Engineering & Physical Sciences

2nd place Congratulations to Amna Nazir (£100)College of Arts & Law

3rd place Congratulations to Louis Monroy Santander (£50), College of Social Sciences


Bi-annual Awards for Public Engagement with Research


College of Engineering & Physical Sciences – Congratulations Mattia Cassanelli (OVERALL WINNER, £100), School of Chemical Engineering

College of Social Sciences – Congratulations to Felyn Lewis (£50), School of Social Policy

College of Life and Environmental Sciences – Congratulations to Peter Noy (£50), School of Biosciences

College of Medical and Dental Sciences – Congratulations to Leah Fitzsimmons (£50), Institute of Cancer & Genomic Sciences

College of Arts and Law –   Congratulations to Eleanor Dobson, School of English and School of History

JANUARY – JUNE 2016 PERIOD (Already awarded)

College of Arts and Law –  Congratulations to Thea Buckley (OVERALL WINNER, £100), School of English (Shakespeare Institute)

College of Engineering & Physical Sciences – Congratulations to Hannah Middleton, Anna Green, Sam Cooper, nominated on behalf of Andreas Freise (£50), School of Physics

College of Life and Environmental Sciences – Congratulations to Mel Rohse (£50), School of Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences

College of Medical and Dental Sciences – Congratulations to Mel Grant (£50), School of Dentistry

College of Social Sciences – no entries were received from this College during the time period

Postgraduate Certificate in Advanced Research Methods & Skills (PGCARMS): Public Engagement Module, Winner of the 2016 Alice Roberts’ award for best public engagement activity:

Congratulations to Guy Ainsley, Business School, College of Arts & Law for his thoughtful stakeholder workshop/focus group on the use of information in decision-making and associated risks within corporate boards (both private and public).

We hope to create case studies of entries for this blog and other handouts. Please check the case studies section in future.

Congratulations again and we hope that your win will inspire you to continue to do more public engagement with your research! To those who didn’t win this time, it was very tight and we still really value your contribution and would encourage you to apply again in future!


Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from PERC to you all!


PERC  runs bi-annual awards for public engagement with research at UoB. The next deadline is Dec 9th, 2016 for public engagement activity which took place between July 1st – December 9th, 2016. Find out more here.

PERC also runs the annual Storytelling Researcher Video Competition. To see previous winners and find out more info go here. The deadline for this is also 9th December, 2016.

Winners will be announced on Dec 15th by scientist, TV presenter and author, Professor Alice Roberts, at the annual Public Engagement with Research Day

PERC will also periodically update this page with external awards and competitions we become aware of. Feel free to alert us to any we may be missing. You can also check through our news posts tagged for ‘competition’ here.



A list of past competitions is listed here.